The Franklin Prize for Teaching Excellence is presented annually to recognize and celebrate faculty excellence in teaching at the HKUST Business School. The Prize was established in 2000 with donations from the Larry and Mei Kwong Franklin Endowment Fund to recognize our faculty contributions in the form of teaching excellence in undergraduate and graduate degree programs.

The Department Award is an addition to the Franklin Prize to honor the overall outstanding achievement of a department over the past academic year. This year, the Department Award goes to the Department of Finance. The award plaques were presented by our donor Prof. Laurence FRANKLIN on May 13 to the following awardees:

UG Teaching
Thomas Bradford BITTERLY, Assistant Professor (Management)
Deniz OKAT, Assistant Professor (Finance)
Garvin Percy DIAS, Associate Professor of Business Education (Information Systems, Business Statistics, and Operations Management - ISOM)

MBA Core Teaching
KOH Tat Koon, Associate Professor (ISOM)

MBA Elective/MSc Teaching
Stephen William NASON, Professor of Business Practice (Management) - Ptof. Emily NASON receives the award on his behalf.
CHEN Tai-Yuan, Professor (Accounting) - not available for the presentation

Department Award
Department of Finance

List of Finalists
AU Pak Hung, Associate Professor (Economics)
LEE Byoungchan, Assistant Professor (Economics)
PARK Sang Kyu, Assistant Professor (Marketing)
PARK Eunyoung, Assistant Professor (Management)
CHOI Jaeho, Assistant Professor (Management)
Abhiroop MUKHERJEE, Professor (Finance)
YANG Yi, Associate Professor (ISOM)
CHEN Yanzhen, Assistant Professor (ISOM)
FONG Yuk Fai, Professor (Economics)
David Edward COOK, Professor (Economics)