Fintech Research Project

The project aims at providing a roadmap for transforming Hong Kong into a global fintech hub through the delivery of policy recommendations, scholarly contributions, and industrial impacts.

Research

Led by Professor Tam Kar Yan, the Project, “Contributing to the Development of Hong Kong into a Global Fintech Hub”, is one of five important studies awarded funding by the Research Grants Council (RGC) under the Theme-based Research Scheme 2018/19. It consists of eight major research tasks that cover blockchain, cybersecurity, risk preference, robo-advising, artificial intelligence / machine learning, systemic risk, financial innovation policy, and manpower development, conducted by a team of elite researchers from HKUST and other universities with expertise in finance, information systems, computer science, accounting, economics, and policy. The Project Advisory Board consists of representatives from regulators, financial institutions, technology providers and fintech startups that recommends the overall research direction and provide advice and facilitate the dissemination of research findings.

Fintech Education

Aside from research, the project team also dedicates their efforts into promoting fintech to the HKUST community and beyond. Fintech seminars, workshops, and other activities for students, staff, and the public are organized from time to time with the aims to increasing HKUST members' knowledge and understanding on fintech, inviting dialogues for exchange of insights, and creating learning opportunities for HKUST students and the public.

Industry Collaborations

We recognize the importance of educators and industry practitioners to work closely together for building a vibrant and diverse fintech community. We are open to ideas and knowledge exchange. Talk to us and explore possible collaborations on fintech education and research.

fintech@ust.hk    (852) 2358 8748


News and Events

News Highlights

Stay informed of our happenings and the latest developments with our research, education and other initiatives involving the fintech community.

Events

Our events include seminars, workshops, and student competitions, building effective connections between fintech enthusiasts from HKUST and the larger community.


Latest Findings: Applications and Reports

A comprehensive study that examines four key areas most critical to fintech development: Regulation, Government Support, Business Environment and Talent of Hong Kong and seven other fintech hubs. The report identifies opportunities across the four areas with actionable recommendations for Hong Kong to further enhance its fintech strengths and to thrive as a leading global fintech hub.

This fact sheet presents key findings from the Cybersecurity for Financial Industry: An Analysis of the Cyber Resilience Assessment Framework report that documents the in-depth research on the Cyber Resilience Assessment Framework (C-RAF) of financial institutions in Hong Kong. The findings revealed the characteristics and cyber resilience of the sampled financial institutions, providing insights on the effectiveness and impact of C-RAF adoption and how to enhance cybersecurity measures for the financial institutions.

A comprehensive research to demonstrate the effectiveness of security measures taken by financial institutions under the C-RAF and to assess the impact of C-RAF adoption on security in the financial industry.

Four HKUST Business School faculty members share their insights and research findings on various fintech hot topics, including regulatory risks, opportunities in merging quantum computing and financial services, cybersecurity in the post-pandemic era, and the establishment of the fintech talent pool.

An in-depth analysis about AI and big data talent landscape across six financial centers in Asia Pacific, to understand the measures taken by each financial center to fill the talent gap, and makes recommendations.

A model pre-trained on financial communication text with a total corpora size of 4.9B tokens that can be utilized to analyze financial texts to predict outcomes including stock returns, stock volatilities, corporate fraud, etc.

A detailed look at the core competencies required for fintech professionals and our key observations on the talent landscape of the Hong Kong fintech industry.

A comprehensive survey study on the adoption of virtual banks and insurers in Hong Kong

Read the Spring 2019 issue of Biz@HKUST that was dedicated to fintech in Hong Kong.

金融科技研究計劃

此計劃旨在通過提供政策建議、展示學術成果和擴大業界影響,推動香港成為全球的金融科技樞紐。

研究

“促進香港成為全球的金融科技樞紐”研究計劃由譚嘉因教授領導,為獲得研究資助局(研資局)二○一八/一九年度主題研究計劃資助的五個重要研究項目之一。此計劃共有八個主要研究議題,內容包括區塊鏈、網絡安全、風險偏好、智能理財顧問、人工智能/機器學習、系統風險、金融創新政策以及人才發展,由來自科大和其他大學的金融學、信息系統、電腦科學、會計學、經濟學以及政策學專家共同完成。除此之外,由來自監管部門、金融機構、技術提供商和金融科技初創公司的代表所組成的計劃咨詢委員會亦會為計劃的整體研究方向提供建議,並促進研究成果的推廣與傳播。

金融科技教育

除研究外,計劃團隊也致力在科大內外推廣金融科技。我們會不時舉辦研討會、工作坊以及其他活動,讓科大學生、教職員和廣大群眾能了解更多金融科技的資訊及知識,促進不同觀點的交流與分享。

與業界合作

要建立一個活躍並多元化的金融科技環境,教育界及業界人士之間的緊密合作是不可或缺的。我們十分歡迎意見及知識交流。若您希望在金融科技研究及教育上與我們合作,請與我們聯絡。

fintech@ust.hk    (852) 2358 8748


新聞及活動

新聞摘要

了解我們的最新消息和發展情況,並獲得金融科技研究、教育以及其他方面的資訊。

活動

我們定期舉辦研討會、工作坊和學生競賽,讓來自科大和社會各界的金融科技愛好者之間能彼此聯繫及交流。


研究成果:應用程式及報告

此研究報告分別從「法例監管」、「政府支援」、「營商環境」及「人才」四項對金融科技發展起著關鍵作用的領域作深入探討,分析香港以及其他七個環球金融科技中心的發展及其特徵,並針對香港的金融科技發展,審視四大關鍵範疇的機遇及提供切實可行的建議,以進一步提升香港的金融科技實力,致力成為全球領先的金融科技中心。

此資料便覽列出有關「網絡防衛評估框架」(C-RAF)報告要點,該報告深入分析香港金融機構在C-RAF下的慨況,揭示香港金融機構在C-RAF下的網絡防衛能力和特徵、以及有關措施的有效性。報告結果有助金融機構評估本身的風險狀況,及為他們如何加強其網絡安全措施提供見解。

此報告深入分析香港金融機構在「網絡防衛評估框架」(C-RAF)下的網絡防衛能力及其措施的有效性,並評估採用 C-RAF對金融行業在識別網絡安全缺口的影響。

就各大熱金融科技題目,四位來自科大商學院的教授於書中分享他們的見解和研究成果,包括監管風險、量子計算與金融科技的融合、後疫情時代的網絡風險管理和建構未來金融科技人才庫。

一項深入分析亞太區六個金融中心人工智能和大數據人才布局的調查報告,了解各金融中心為填補人才缺口所採取的措施,並提出建議。

此預訓練模型為通過大量金融通信文本的預訓練構建而成,其總語料庫擁有4.9B令牌(token)的大小,並可用於分析金融文本以預測包括股票收益、股票波動、公司欺詐等結果。

一項對金融科技專業人士所需的核心能力的詳細研究,以及我們對香港金融科技行業人才前景的主要觀察。

一項關於香港採用虛擬銀行和虛擬保險公司的調查報告,以及對前景的見解及建議。

閱讀以香港金融科技為主題的2019年春季版Biz@HKUST