12.04.2017

Apple and Mercedes? or Apple and Hyundai? Why Some Brand Alliances Make More Sense Than Others

VAN DER LANS, Ralf | Van den BERGH, Bram | DIELEMAN, Evelien

Brand alliances bring together two or more brands in joint marketing events that in theory should benefit all participants. But the science behind which brand alliances make the best “fit” has been weak, complicated by the difficulty in collecting data and determining the best measures. The reason is that brands are strategically combined into alliances, which makes investigation challenging. Now, a group of researchers has addressed the gap by creating a model that lets them measure consumer ratings of real brands, as well as their favourability in different combinations.

The study by Ralf van der Lans, Bram Van den Bergh and Evelien Dieleman explains the different responses to brand alliances and tests them, even when on the surface these alliances can sometimes seem perplexing.

“Why is Red Bull teaming up with a somewhat dissimilar brand, Nissan’s Infinity, on a Formula One race car, rather than Ferrari, which has a more similar brand image? Or why is the Qatar Foundation sponsoring F.C. Barcelona’s soccer shirt alongside UNICEF, rather than displaying its logo next to Emirates’ on Real Madrid’s shirt?” they said.

“We wanted to show that the conceptual coherence between brand personality profiles is a strong predictor of brand alliance evaluations.”

Brand personality has been studied under other conditions and relates to human-like characteristics that consumers frequently attribute to brands. Five dimensions in particular have been singled out: sincerity, competence, excitement, sophistication and ruggedness. The authors refine these categories further into two types: intrinsic dimensions which correspond more closely to human personality dimensions and here include sincerity, competence and excitement; and extrinsic dimensions, which are more related to sociodemographic features rather than personality and here include sophistication and ruggedness.

The authors hypothesise that brand alliances will be more favourably evaluated if they are somewhat dissimilar on intrinsic dimensions and similar on extrinsic ones – much like a romantic couple may be better suited if they come from similar backgrounds but have somewhat dissimilar personality traits.

They test this by having 100 brands evaluated for their brand personality on the five dimensions by 204 participants (each was presented with 10 brands). Another group of 201 participants then evaluated 1,206 brand alliances involving those 100, which they were told were jointly sponsoring an event (each participant was presented with six alliances). The results largely upheld the hypotheses with some modifications.

“Although we find strong support for our hypotheses related to extrinsic dimensions, our conclusions for intrinsic personality dimensions were mixed,” they said.

“Similarity in extrinsic dimensions and moderate dissimilarity in intrinsic dimensions fostered favourable evaluations of brand alliances. But combinations involving ‘exciting’ brands resulted in favourable evaluations irrespective of similarity or dissimilarity, and competence was a less important dimension.

“In sum, it is as if partners should look the same on the outside, for instance sophisticated (such as upper class and glamorous) or rugged (such as outdoorsy and tough), but be different on the inside.”

For managers, the findings and approach used in the study could help them to identify ideal partners for brand alliances. In particular, the brand personality information is a useful tool for comparing brand alliance fit because each personality dimension can be represented separately– something the authors do in a table of car manufacturers and technology companies. This helps firms to identify or avert alliances which might not be obvious. For instance, Apple, which is rated highly for excitement and sophistication, combines well with automakers such as Mini and Mercedes Benz, but less well with the more rugged Ferrari and Porsche. Honda, Ford and Toyota, on the other hand, are a better fit with Sony.

“These examples highlight the importance of conceptual coherence in brand personality profiles. Indeed, attractive alliances do not result from simply pairing with an exciting brand such as Apple,” they said.

The authors point to further avenues for research, such as whether the benefits of brand alliances outweigh the costs, whether the kind of fit described in the study pertains to other circumstances other than a one-off event, and whether there are impacts on such hard metrics as sales and market share.

VAN DER LANS, Ralf

Professor
Marketing

12.04.2017

苹果應與奔驰或韩国现代合作?品牌联盟的意义

VAN DER LANS, Ralf | Van den BERGH, Bram | DIELEMAN, Evelien

品牌联盟指两个或更多的品牌联手搞营销,这种联合营销活动理论上应对所有参与者有益。但是使品牌联盟达到最佳“契合度”的理论却很薄弱,而收集数据并确定最佳衡量尺度很困难,使问题更复杂化。原因是品牌在战略上形成联盟,令调研工作变得艰巨。现在研究人员填补了这一空白。他们创建了一个模型,用来衡量消费者给真实品牌的评级以及他们对不同品牌组合的喜好。

Ralf van der Lans、Bram Van den Bergh和Evelien Dieleman所做的研究阐明了对品牌联盟产生不同反应的原因所在,并检验了这些原因,即使在表面上这些联盟可能令人提出一些疑問。

作者说:“为什么在一级方程式赛车上,红牛与不太相似的品牌日产英菲尼迪联手,而不与品牌形象更相似的法拉利联手?或者为什么赞助巴塞罗那足球俱乐部球衫的卡塔尔基金会将其徽标与联合国儿童基金会并列,而不是在皇家马德里足球俱乐部的球衫上将其徽标放在阿联酋的徽标旁边?”

“我们想要证明品牌个性特征之间的概念一致性能,以及從中预测品牌联盟评价。”

品牌个性已经在其他条件下得到研究,与消费者经常归于品牌的特征相关。五个维度被特别挑选出来:真诚、胜任、刺激、教养和强壮。作者将这些类别进一步分成两类:与人类个性维度更接近的内在维度,包括真诚、胜任和刺激;与社会人口学特征(而非个性)更相关的外在维度,包括教养和强壮。

作者假设,如果品牌内在维度不太相似,而外在维度相似,那么品牌联盟就会得到更好的评价,这就好比恋爱双方背景相似但个性特征不太相似,会更合适。

他们让204名参与者(给每人展示10个品牌)按照这五个维度评价100个品牌的品牌个性,来检验自己的假设。然后让另一组201名参与者评价涉及上述100个品牌的1,206个品牌联盟。参与者被告知这些品牌在联合赞助一次活动(给每位参与者展示六组联盟)。结果在很大程度上证明假设是正确的,但有一些修改。

他们说:“虽然我们发现有很强的证据证明外在维度的相关假设是正确的,但是我们对内在个性维度作出的结论正误参半。

“外在维度相似性和内在维度的适度相异性形成品牌联盟的好评。但是涉及‘刺激’性品牌的组合,无论相似还是相异,都獲得好评,而‘胜任’则是一个不太重要的维度。

“总之,合作伙伴应该寻求外在的相同点,比如教养(比如上层阶级,有魅力)或强壮(比如喜爱户外活动,吃苦耐劳),但内在应该不同。”

对管理者而言,研究结果及研究方法能帮助他们发现品牌联盟的理想合作伙伴。特别是,品牌个性信息是比较品牌联盟契合度的有用工具,因为每个个性维度都可以单独罗列 —— 作者用表格列出汽车制造商和科技公司的维度。这有助于公司发现或避开可能并不明显的联盟。例如,苹果的“刺激”和“教养”评分很高,与Mini和梅赛德斯奔驰等汽车制造商组合很适合,但与较“强壮”的法拉利和保时捷组合不太合适。而本田、福特和丰田则与索尼更契合。

作者说:“这些例子强调了品牌个性特征中概念一致性的重要性。的确,简单地与‘刺激’性的品牌如苹果配对,不会产生富于吸引力的联盟。”

作者指出了可供进一步研究的领域,比如品牌联盟的好处是否大于成本,研究中所描述的契合是否也关乎其他情况,而并非一次性事件,对销售和市场份额等硬指标是否有影响。

VAN DER LANS, Ralf

Professor
Marketing