01.02.2017

How ‘Opt-out’ Affects Other Consumers

GOH, Khim-Yong | HUI, Kai Lung | PNG, Ivan P.L.

Advertising and direct marketing can be good or bad: consumers may catch a great deal on airline tickets or the latest model of TV, but on the other hand they compete for consumers’ limited attention and can cause nuisance and inconvenience. Consumers avoid marketing in multiple ways: switching channels, using TiVo, concealing their addresses, using caller ID, and installing spam filters, for instance.

When members of the public take steps to avoid advertising, it has a knock-on effect by imposing “externalities” – consequences experienced by third parties -- on other consumers. These externalities affect the effectiveness of advertising and direct marketing, in terms of both vendor profits (they can’t reach customers who want their products, for example) and consumer welfare (when some consumers opt out of receiving marketing calls, those who don’t opt out may experience more calls, for instance). However, very little research has been done on market externalities, and as a result policy makers and managers lack guidance as to their significance.

Khim-Yong Goh, Kai-Lung Hui, and Ivan P. L. Png investigated the extent of externalities in the context of the US Do Not Call (DNC) registry by examining the exogenous, or external, timing of the enforcement of the registry. The registry was opened for consumer registrations on June 27, 2003, with the first wave of registrations (up to August 31) being enforced on October 1, and later registrations enforced after a processing time of three months.

The study compared the pattern of DNC registrations after the start of enforcement on October 1 as a function of the first wave. After enforcement, telemarketers were not allowed to call the first wave of consumers, so those consumers should have experienced a reduction in telemarketing. What about consumers who had not yet registered; they should not have been affected in any way. However, the researchers found that, after enforcement, consumer DNC registrations increased with the magnitude of the first wave. The team interpreted this relation as an externality from previously registered consumers to unregistered consumers, rather than the effects of individual preference or social influence.

They concluded that consumer DNC registrations had knock-on effects on other consumers. An increase in the first wave of registrations by 1% was associated with a 3.1% increase in subsequent registrations. The effect was stronger in larger and more educationally or racially heterogeneous markets. It could possibly be the result of unregistered consumers being more receptive to telemarketing and telemarketers increasing calls to them. Results suggest that managers should facilitate consumer opt-out, especially in larger and more educationally or racially heterogeneous markets.

They explored possible explanations of the externality and found that the evidence pointed toward the mechanism as being consumer self-selection by their expected benefit from telemarketing offers. The first wave of consumers who registered with the DNC were relatively less receptive to telemarketing offers, so the unregistered consumers were relatively more receptive to telemarketing. Hence, it was profitable for telemarketers to increase their calls to the unregistered consumers. However, the increase in calling prompted some of the previously unregistered consumers to join the DNC.

These findings provide insight and guidance to both managerial practice and public policy. Managers need to appreciate how the yield from marketing varies with consumer response to opt-out facilities and how to manage the responses. To the extent of consumer self-selection by expected benefit, managers should support government initiatives to provide opt-out facilities, and particularly in larger and more educationally or racially heterogeneous markets. Policy-makers need guidance on policies to address externalities among consumers and between vendors and consumers in the marketplace.

HUI, Kai Lung

Senior Associate Dean, School of Business and Management, Deputy Head, Elman Family Professor of Business, Chair Professor, Academic Director, Kellogg-HKUST EMBA Program, Academic Director, HKUST EMBA Program, Academic Director, MScFinTech Program
Information Systems, Business Statistics & Operations Management

01.02.2017

“退出选项”如何影响其他消费者

GOH, Khim-Yong | 许佳龙 | PNG, Ivan P.L.

广告和直接营销可能有利有弊:一方面,消费者在机票或最新款电视机上可以得到很多優惠,但另一方面广告和直接营销在争取消费者有限的注意力時,可能造成麻烦和不便。消费者以多种方式避开营销:换频道、使用TiVo、隐藏地址、使用来电显示并安装垃圾邮件过滤程序等。

当公众设法避开广告时,就会对其他消费者产生“外部效应”,即第三方所经历的后果,形成连锁效应。就厂商利润(比如厂商无法接触到需要其产品的消费者)和消费者福利(比如,当一些消费者选择不接受营销电话时,另一些未选择退出的消费者就可能会接到更多电话)而言,这些外部效应影响到广告和直接营销的效果。但是,有关市场外部效应的研究非常罕见,因此,决策者和管理者缺乏有关这方面意义的指导。

Khim-Yong Goh、许佳龙和Ivan P. L. Png以美国“谢绝来电”登记册为背景,通过考查实施登记册所带来的外源或外部节律,来探讨外部效应的范围。登记册于2003年6月27日开始接受消费者登记,第一波登记截止于8月31日,于10月1日开始执行,此后的登记在三个月的处理时间后执行。

本研究对比了“谢绝来电”登记在10月1日开始执行后的规律,即第一波的一个作用。执行该措施后,电话营销商不得致电第一波消费者,因此这些消费者应该体验到电话营销减少。尚未登记的消费者又如何呢?他们应该不受任何影响才对。但是,研究人员发现,执行该措施后,消费者“谢绝来电”登记人数以第一波的量级增加。研究团队把这种关系解释为已登记消费者对未登记消费者产生的外部效应,而非个人喜好或社会影响力的效应。

他们断言,消费者“谢绝来电”登记对其他消费者有连锁效应。第一波登记人数增加1%会导致后续登记人数增加3.1%。在规模更大且教育程度不一和种族混杂的市场,这种效应更显著。这可能是因为未登记的消费者对电话营销接受度更高,于是电话营销商给他们打电话的次数增多了。结果表明,管理者应促进消费者退出的做法,在规模更大且教育程度不一和种族混杂的市场更应如此。

作者探索了外部效应的可能解释,发现其证据指向这一机制:消费者按照其对电话营销的预期利益作出自我选择。登记“谢绝来电”的第一波消费者对电话营销的接受度相对较低,所以未登记的消费者对电话营销的接受度相对较高。因此,电话营销商对未登记消费者增加致电次数是有利可图的。然而,营销电话增多,使先前未登记的消费者加入“谢绝来电”的行列。

这些研究结果为管理方法和公共政策提供了洞见和指导。管理者需体认到营销收益因消费者对退出设施的反应而异,并懂得如何管理这些反应。在消费者按预期利益进行自我选择的情况下,管理者应支持政府提供退出设施的倡议,特别是在规模较大、教育程度不一或种族混杂的市场。决策者需要政策指导,处理消费者中间以及市场中厂商与消费者之间的外部效应。

许佳龙

Senior Associate Dean, School of Business and Management, Deputy Head, Elman Family Professor of Business, Chair Professor, Academic Director, Kellogg-HKUST EMBA Program, Academic Director, HKUST EMBA Program, Academic Director, MScFinTech Program
Information Systems, Business Statistics & Operations Management